Which SAFe Certification is Best?

Image of Admin

The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) continues to dominate the market when it comes to scaling scrum/agile. Enterprises favor it heavily & employers value it highly. There is no denying the employability of a certified SAFe professional.

But with so many different courses on offer, how do you decide which one is best for you?

To help you navigate the various Scaled Agile certifications, this article will clearly outline which courses are intended for which role(s).


SAFe/Agile Experience Level: Beginner


1) SAFe® for Teams (SP)

Certified SAFe® Practitioner

Intended for any member of an agile team. Helps you understand the core concepts of the framework and the various roles/responsibilities. 

2) SAFe Product Owner/Product Manager (POPM)

SAFe® Product Owner/Product Manager

Intended for product-orientated professionals. Understand the role of product owners/managers within the SAFe framework. 

3) SAFe® Scrum Master (SSM)

Certified SAFe® Scrum Master

Intended for aspiring Scrum Masters or team coaches/facilitators. Understand the role of the scrum master within the SAFe framework. 

4) SAFe® DevOps (SDP)

Certified SAFe® DevOps Practitioner

Intended for engineers. Understand how DevOps works in Agile, specifically Scaled Agile.


SAFe/Agile Experience Level: Intermediate


1) Leading SAFe® (SA)

Certified SAFe® Agilist

Intended for Leaders within an organization (those that have influence) to guide a lean-agile transformation.

2) SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)

Certified SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master

Intended for established Scrum Masters or team coaches/facilitators. Go even deeper on the role of the scrum master within the SAFe framework. 

3) Agile Product Management (APM)

Certified SAFe® Agile Product Manager

Intended for established Product Owners/Managers. Looks at product delivery/value at the enterprise/portfolio level.

4) SAFe® for Architects (ARCH)

Certified SAFe® Architect


SAFe/Agile Experience Level: Expert


1) Implementing SAFe® (SPC)

Certified SAFe® Program Consultant

Intended for leaders at all levels to lead the transformation and support business agility.

2) Lean Portfolio Management (LPM)

Certified SAFe® Lean Portfolio Manager

Aimed at the C-level and senior enterprise agile coaches. Helping connect high-level business strategy to execution/delivery.

3) SAFe® Release Train Engineer (RTE)

Certified SAFe® Release Train Engineer

Aimed at Scrum Masters, Coaches, and Managers to understand how to effectively executive an Agile Release Train (ART).

4) Agile Software Engineering

Certified SAFe® Agile Software Engineer

Intended for established developers and engineers. Helping to increase technical agility within the enterprise.


Screenshot 2023-02-17 at 15.44.11


Choosing Your Course

Good luck! If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact us here.

Watch our YouTube video 'Which SAFe Training is right for me?'.

Value Glide is a Gold SPCT Partner with Scaled Agile. We've taught thousands of students in SAFe across the globe. We're rated excellent on Trustpilot with over 180 reviews.

Screenshot 2023-02-08 at 13.33.31partner-badge-gold-spct-300px (2)

You can find ALL of our SAFe-certified courses here.

Leave a Comment

Blog posts

Related Articles.

Image of Admin

List of SAFe Certifications

Looking for every Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) certification on offer? You're in the right place.

Read more
Image of Munish Kumar
Munish Kumar

Transformation  - Are You Missing Something?

Sugar is not good for us, but have we stopped eating? And so are any other refined carbohydrates...

Read more